Timeseries graph modeling using TigerGraph

Hi,

I am newbie here and have been struggling to find examples of modeling timeseries graph using TigerGraphStudio. Tried to ask in slack almost 1 week ago no luck. Hope to find help with any similar examples here…

Like airports with many flights at same or different time from source to destination with different delay or transit hops of each flights, I have network traffic data (vertex as device IP and edge as socket connections), so each directed edge is source_IP:source_port → dest_IP:dest_port with delay metrics and timestamp of each event.

How do we model such graph (similar to airports, airlines and flights time tables) using TigerGraphStudio? If there is a way to model such timeseries graph in TigerGraph, how to query the graph so we can see what is all connections/path from given vertex A to remote vertex B between timestamp t1 to t2? and compare delay of each path in given time range?

I thought its typical scenario of graph like to book flights for travel with selected dates considering different time delay and cost, but unfortunately unable to find such modeling examples yet from graph DB so not sure if I missed something…

Appreciate for help and pointer of examples!
eric

1 Like

Hi @eric,

the best way to build timeseries schema using graph database would be to put the date part into a vertex (or multiple vertices, depending on your query preferences!) and to connect the data with date using edges. That way you will be able to make a very fast queries, much faster than filtering out by using where clause.

Please check slides 11 and 12 in this document:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11YL497fWZwObR1J2qyPb7iIA55sHEiTR/view

Best,
Bruno

1 Like