How to find most common pathways in a graph

Hi from TG community,

I am new to GSQL and need some guidance on where to get started for what I would like to do.

As you can see from the screenshot of my graph, I am working with patient data (yellow vertex on the left) who have claims (blue vertex in the middle) for an injury (purple vertex between the two) and a healthcare provider pathway (in this claim example: Emergency Department → General Practitioners → concussion services). I have ~55,000 claims and each claim has a provider pathway. I would like to filter my graph for certain characteristics (e.g. accident date to first appointment date < 3 days) and then query my graph to return the 10 most common provider pathways. My next step would be to then compare costs of these pathways.

Can anyone provide me with a high level logic of the steps I would take in my query? The main point that I am stuck on is how to return the provider pathway for each claim and then return the x most common. I will figure out details and troubleshoot the query myself but am stuck on where to start.

Thanks in advance,
Renata

@renatagot We have weekly GSQL session with the community on Discord. The next one is next Tuesday 9:30am CST. Would you be able to make it to the session? If not we can try to work through this over the tread.

To help us better understand the data and what is the “provider path”? Could you walk us through the image you provided above. Are you looking to do something like this?

Hi Jon, i will be there for the session!

Steps 1 and 2 are correct (step 2 is find all treatment days related to claim ordered by date).
Step 3 is to find the provider sequence related to the step 2.
The idea is to do this for all claims to find the most common treatment provider sequence.
Step 4 would be to find the average/median cost of each treatment provider sequence.

I hope that makes sense, if not i will do my best to explain on the call in discord.

Thanks!